Three cheers for progress.

Standard

Noticing physical changes in the mirror or the slack in a pair of jeans can make you feel spunky. Taking notes on scale losses and inches lost can put a little extra pep in your step, but I never realized how psyched I would feel when I could confidently label myself an “intermediate” fitness enthusiast.

I was on bodyspace, browsing for my next weightlifting program. Over the next few weeks I really want to focus on sculpting and increasing fat loss. To do this I’m going to need to change up my routine a bit, so I look to bodyspace app for program guidance. I came across some nice fat loss programs but they seemed sort of basic, and typical of what I’ve been doing currently. To see changes, I have to amp it up a bit. This is when I realized I was going to have to leave the “beginner” level. 🙂 Once I switched into the intermediate stuff it was a whole new world. I saw so much opportunity. I knew all the lifts, and all the lingo. I was sure I could do the amount of reps required, or likely close to, so I tried it.

I’ve worked so hard to get to where I am that it’s very rewarding to look back and see that I have actually increased my strength and endurance along the way. After sitting down to chart out the new program on paper and in my digital calender, I got to it. Day one was tough. It was just what I needed. My older routines were becoming too typical and not making me push as hard as I should be. I like feeling myself push past a mental barrier and seeing how what my body is capable of! Boy, was I impressed today, but I’ll be sore tomorrow, haha. I AM INTERMEDIATE!

Lifting isn’t the only area where I’ve seen progress. When I started running 3 years ago, my first run was a 20 minute mile. I quit running since then, and started up again in early April of this year. My starting mile was an 18 minute mile in April. Well, this week I ran 4.5 miles in 33 minutes. That’s the most miles I have consecutively run, and in the shortest time. I was so proud that I screamed!

It’s all worth it! Keep pushing yourself! You will finish what you started, and go furthur than you ever thought you could.

**Am I still doing Leangains?
Yes, and no. I’m still doing intermittent fasting with Leangains as the base structure for counting macros, and including strength training. I’m not following the fitness schedule- leangains recommends 3 strength training days a week. I am doing a split week of strength training, focusing on a different body section each day, with cardio mixed in. I’m still following 16:8 protocol. *You can find more info on my intermittent fasting practices and an entire breakdown of my first week’s experience in earlier blog posts.

9 responses »

  1. This is awesome! Keep it going. After reading this post I have gained some motivation to actually get up and go to the gym when I had close to none when I got on the computer! Thanks for your post 🙂

Leave a comment